Day Two: It Had to Be The Shoes

Image
 
In high school I was a sneaker head and my sneaker obsession followed me into my first two years of college. It was due to a shortage of disposable income and a change in priorities that I kicked the habit. The boxes still tower in my closet and I often bemoan moving them around from house to house, but sneakers signify a coming of age for me. They were once a symbol of my brokenness and materialism. These days, I get a kick out thinking back on my zeal for collecting and prizing that ever elusive grail of a rare sneaker once it was in my possession. I break a pair out ever so often, probably never to buy an Air Jordan again, but I look at them and think, “When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child [and indulged in frivolous spending like a child]. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me” 1 Cor. 13:11. 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

